WKU football update 4/1

1 04 2010

Just got back from today’s practice, a couple things that were hit on afterward:

– WKU coach Willie Taggart said today’s workout was pretty up and down in terms of which side carried practice – saying both the offense and defense had their moments during the team period.

JUCO junior Matt Pelesasa once again ran the show at quarterback with Kawaun Jakes still sidelined due to an ankle injury – Taggart said Pelesasa didn’t have as good a day today as he did on Tuesday, but at the same time he still found a way to make plays and have an overall solid workout.

As far as Jakes is concerned, Taggart said he doesn’t expect the redshirt sophomore to be in action on Saturday during WKU’s first scrimmage of the spring – saying that ‘Kawaun will get back when Kawaun gets back.’

“Right now he’s a ways off, he didn’t practice today and Kawaun will get back when Kawaun gets back,” Taggart said. “I’m more worried about the guys that are in there playing. If Kawaun wants it, he’ll be in there getting treatment every day whenever he has free time. I know I’d be frustrated if I was him, If I was a starter last year and came in now and just was going to give it away like that, no. We don’t want guys like that, we want guys to compete.”

– Saturday will mark the first official scrimmage of spring ball. Taggart said that the team is going to spend a lot of time working on situational scenarios within a game-like atmosphere.

Taggart and the staff said they were excited to see how the team operates with the coaches off the field for an extended period of time – meaning that the staff will be looking for team-leaders on both sides of the ball that are willing to rally the troops so to speak and be stern voices inside their respective huddles.

The scrimmage will begin at 9:10 a.m. at Houchens-Smith Stadium. I’m still waiting on confirmation as to whether or not this event will be open to the public. I’ll share that with you as soon as I get it.

– We spent some time chatting with former WKU quarterback Donte Pimpleton after practice today. Some might remember Pimpleton as a run-first signal caller, very similar to Taggart himself. Pimpleton actually played two years with Taggart (97-98) and was then coached by Taggart throughout the rest of his career at WKU.

Pimpleton is back at WKU this year and is working with the football team as a quality control coach – something he said he was very excited about.

“It’s great to be back,” Pimpleton said. “This has always been kind of a home to me. I helped out as a quality control coach last year (at Louisville), but I really wanted to come back to where it all started and help out.

“Willie’s been like a big brother to me since I got here. We played together for two years and then he coached me. When I was coaching in high school he helped me a lot, when I was at Louisville he helped me a lot – so when he asked me to come it was kind of like a no-brainer.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

