Jeremy Evans update

15 06 2010

I had a chance to speak with former Western Kentucky forward Jeremy Evans Monday night about his current preparations for the NBA Draft.

Evans, who earlier this spring was attempting to make the switch from center to power forward, is now currently working out at the small forward spot for NBA teams – something that’s been quite the challenge thus far, but a challenge he’s happy to meet.

Jeremy Evans

“Everything’s going good,” Evans said. “The transition from center to small forward is going to be tough but I think I’m catching on to stuff a lot quicker than they thought I would. I think it’ll end up being Ok, but it’s going to take a while for sure.

“It’s going good though. I shoot better than they thought I would, I’ve just got to work on my ball-handling a little more and I think I’ll be Ok.”

The 6-9 Evans is still working out at Attack Athletics in Chicago attempting to put on muscle to his rather slender frame (he was listed at 196 during his senior year at WKU). Evans said he’s put on roughly eight pounds of muscle thus far and is eventually hoping to reach 215.

“It’s not there yet and it’ll probably still be a struggle, but it’s something I’m definitely going to keep working at for sure,” he said.

Evans worked out with the Phoenix Suns and Memphis Grizzlies over the weekend and said he hopes to squeeze in a few more workouts before next week’s NBA Draft – which is on June 24.

If Evans doesn’t get drafted next week, he’ll attempt to catch on as a free agent and said he hopes to at least find a home in the NBA Development League to work on his small forward transition.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

