Allen Edwards comments

19 07 2010

The newest member of the Western Kentucky men’s basketball staff, former UK standout Allen Edwards, had his first media availability this afternoon. 

Here were some snippets:

“I’m just extremely excited to have the opportunity to be a part of coach (Ken) McDonald’s staff. I’ve seen this program for a while from a far being a few miles down the road and I see great potential here with the tradition. I’ve had an opportunity to get to know the rest of the staff and some of the players, I’m excited to be here.

“This is something I pursued and pursued it greatly. I thought it was a great fit. I’ve seen this tradition and the winning around here from afar. Not only under coach McDonald but under coach (Darrin) Horn, coach (Ralph) Willard, coach (Dennis) Felton and even coach Clem (Haskins). I tell guys all the time that there are jobs that open up in basketball every year, and I wasn’t always one of those guys that went after every opportunity, but this one was a chance that I really pushed for and felt like it would be a good fit.”

“Obviously I played college basketball in the state of Kentucky, and with this program being in the Sun Belt and us going down and playing Florida International and Florida Atlantic every year – it gives me a chance to go recruit near Miami where I played high school basketball. I feel that here in Kentucky and there in Florida, I can do a very good job in the recruiting game.”

“I just want to bring help wherever I can. The tradition around here speaks for itself, but I want to just help continue it. I come from winning. I’ve been around winning pretty much my whole life, so whatever it is coach McDonald and this staff want me to do – I’m all in.”

“Obviously being a former player that had success in both high school and college and also coaching under some of the coaches I’ve coached under, I’ve been around a lot of great people. And from a basketball and leadership standpoint – I’ve been through it. And if there’s anything I can help these guys with on the court, I’ll do it. But also in life. As a coach we have great opportunities to effect kid’s lives, and basketball is the gateway to that. I can get out there and work with them and I think guys really take to that when they see a guy out there that’s been through it and is helping them get through it as well.”

“It’s been exciting so far. I’ve had a chance to stop by Lexington and see a few people, have gotten some text messages from some guys I played with – Anthony Epps, Jeff Sheppard, guys like that – congratulating me and welcoming me back. And really it’s been great to get the reception from a lot of other coaches around the state and fans in general – even here locally at the mall, people coming up to me and telling me congratulations. This is a basketball state, there’s a lot of passion for it here, and just to be back in it is a great thing.”

Actions

Information

One response

20 07 2010
thunderhead

I’m not that thrilled to have a uk hack at WKU.

Leave a Reply

