Taggart ready for camp

7 08 2010

Western Kentucky officially opens fall camp on Sunday when players report for duty before hitting the field for the first official practice on Monday.

I spoke with first-year WKU coach Willie Taggart earlier this week about his thoughts heading into camp.

Here are a few highlights:

“I’m ready to get going, ready to get back with the guys. I feel like I’ve been away from them for too long, and I’ve gotten the sense that they feel the same way.
“I’m excited and I’m ready to roll.

“We’re about to be getting after it and I want winners every day – and every day we’re going to find out who those guys are. We want a championship effort and everybody’s going to be accountable.”

“The summer was everything I wanted and then some, there was some real positive feedback and guys were excited. And I was hearing from other people when I’d ask what the guys were doing, basically they’d tell me that ‘they go home and go to sleep’ – that’s what they’re supposed to do after a tough workout. So that’s a good thing.”

“All we talk about ever is finishing. Who’s going to finish? Who’s going all in with this thing.
“We’re about to find out.”

“Guys have to get back to enjoying football and enjoying being out there working. I shouldn’t have to motivate them to be ready for camp, that’s the kind of players we want here – guys that don’t have to get motivated to play because every time they put pads on there’s a change in them – kind of like a super hero.
“They know that and I’m expecting that from them. I expect them to be different.”

“We’re working every day. Come Sunday, we’re on lock down.
“We’re about to be getting after it and I want winners every day – and every day we’re going to find out who those guys are. We want a championship effort and everybody’s going to be accountable.”

“Nebraska isn’t on the radar, we’re trying to get better, learn our own stuff and get better at what we do. If we’re good at what we do, it won’t matter who we play – we’ll be able to go out and execute. If we’re not good at it and we’re more worried about what someone else is doing – you’re not going to be good at anything.
“When it comes time for Nebraska, we’ll move to that. But we  have to get good at what we do first.”

I’ll have a full story on this matter in Sunday’s Daily News.

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 08 2010
hilltoppertom

Look’s like Willie is anxious to get started.

Nick can you give us a rundown on who attended the Elite Hoops Camp at WKU this weekend?

8 08 2010
Nick Baumgardner

Tom,

We were quite a bit shorthanded on the sports desk this weekend, so I wasn’t able to get out to the elite camp. In other words, they had me quarantined with putting together the sports section.

I have been able to confirm that local products George Fant and Chane Behanan were in attendance for at least part of the camp – as was WKU commit Derrick Gordon.

However, I don’t have a full list for you – my apologies.

But rest assured, we’ll have any and all WKU hoops recruit news as it unfolds in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

