Zollo talks about his commitment to WKU

18 10 2010

Just got off the phone with George Rogers Clark senior forward Vinny Zollo, who gave Ken McDonald and Western Kentucky his verbal commitment for the 2011-12 season this morning.

Here’s what Zollo had to say about his decision:

– On what the major selling point was for him:

“I’ve been down several times with my parents before Hysteria and really got a chance to feel the area out, even the stuff off the beaten path. And we really fell in love with the whole place. The facilities are great and they’ll only get better and those fans are great.

“Going to Hysteria and seeing the other guys in that recruiting class that I could have a chance to play made it kind of hard to say no.”

– On how much WKU’s current recruiting class impacted his decision:

“That had a lot to do with it. The fact that they’re all  great players and I know a lot of them is big. Derrick Gordon I played against in the summer and got to know, and really during the summer Western wasn’t really an option for me – but the more I talked to Derrick, the more great things he had to say about it. Coach (Ken) McDonald did a phenomenal job of finding guys that were all looking for the same thing. All of us that said yes to Western had very good offers, all those guys could have gone to big BCS schools. But he got guys who all wanted to come in and make a difference as freshmen. That was a big thing and a big selling point for me and all those guys – to be able to come in together and start something special. I know a lot of people in the area are excited, and they should be. This is huge for Western, and I’m not just saying that because I’m a recruit – I’m looking at it big picture. You’re bringing in six guys that can make an impact at any level in the country and with what we plan to do and with coach Mac’s vision, the sky’s the limit.”

– On how much the possibility of playing right away impacted his decision:

“That was big, a lot of people that were recruiting me about a year ago – a lot of them were Top 25 schools. A lot of them were saying as the year went on ‘Vinny we really love your game and your potential, come in and learn and start your career midway through your sophomore year or as a junior.’ And a lot of guys, that’s what they do. For me, I’m all about having a four-year experience. After looking at what it’s done for so many teams like Butler and the rest, experience – contrary to popular belief – is one of the biggest things in college basketball. Experience means a lot, so does talent, and when you have a mix of that and guys that are willing to put their life into a program it makes  a huge difference.”

– On how big of a relief it is to finally have a decision made:

“It’s a really big (relief). I like to know where I’m going, I didn’t want to sit around, drag it out and choose the hat on signing day. I just wanted to make the right decision. And also, I play at Clark County, we have a great team and a team that we feel can contend for a state championship. To have this out of the way and know that I have piece of mind and have focus on my teammates and my school, I think it’s going to be really good.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 10 2010
paul

zollo, is a great part of the team the coaches are putting togeather

this is the best class since the mcdaniels class a long time ago.

19 10 2010
BK

I am thrilled to have Vinny Zollo on the roster. He is a great guy and all these kids seem to be good friends. The chemistry of this class should be outstanding!

Leave a Reply

