Rainey wins Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Year

8 12 2010

Bobby Rainey’s record-setting season continues.
The Western Kentucky junior running back was named the 2010 Sun Belt Conference Offensive Player of the Year today, as voted by league coaches and select members of the media.
The honor is the first of its kind in school history, as is Rainey’s spot on the All-Sun Belt First Team.
Rainey ran for 1,649 yards this season, on a school and Sun Belt-record 340 carries. His yardage total is currently the second-highest in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, and his 1,879 yards from scrimmage this season accounted for 49.23 percent of WKU’s total offense. The junior also ran for 15 of WKU’s 21 rushing touchdowns in 2010.
His 1,649 yards is second on the WKU all-time single-season rushing list, and his career total of 2,847 yards is 1,549 yards shy of Lerron Moore’s school-record total of 4,396.
Rainey wasn’t the only Hilltopper to earn an all-conference mention this season, as senior inside linebacker Thomas Majors was voted as a second-team performer.
Majors posted a team-high 105 tackles this season, 14 1/2 of those coming for a loss. The 100-tackle season is the second straight for Majors – a junior college transfer in 2009, who hit the tackling century mark in both of his two seasons at WKU.
Senior outside linebacker Orlando Missalefua and senior offensive guard Mychal Patterson were both named to the SBC Honorable Mention squad.
Florida International junior receiver T.Y. Hilton was named the Sun Belt’s Player of the Year, while Middle Tennessee senior defensive lineman Jamari Lattimore won Defensive Player of the Year honors.
Troy’s Corey Robinson – a former Lone Oak product – was named the 2010 Freshman of the Year, while FIU coach Mario Cristobal was tabbed as the league’s Coach of the Year.
Joining Rainey on the First-Team Offense were Arkansas State sophomore quarterback Ryan Aplin, North Texas junior running back Lance Dunbar, Hilton, Troy senior receiver Jerrel Jernigan, Louisiana-Lafayette junior tight end Ladarius Green, FIU senior offensive lineman Brad Serini, Troy senior offensive lineman Tyler Clark, North Texas senior offensive lineman Victor Gill, Arkansas State senior offensive lineman Derek Newton and North Texas senior offensive lineman Esteban Santiago.
The First-Team Defense consisted of Lattimore, Arkansas State senior defensive lineman Bryan Hall, Troy sophomore defensive lineman Jonathan Massaquoi, FIU senior defensive lineman Jarivs Wilson, Arkansas State junior linebacker Demario Davis, FIU senior linebacker Toronto Smith, North Texas senior linebacker Craig Robertson, Arkansas State senior defensive back M.D. Jennings, FIU senior defensive back Anthony Gaitor, MTSU senior defensive back Rod Issac and MTSU senior defensive back Jeremy Kellem.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: