Juan Pattillo earns Lou Henson All-America honors

28 03 2011

Per WKU:


WKU senior Juan Pattillo was selected to the 2011 Lou Henson All-America Team, which honors the top mid-major players in Division I college basketball.

The 2011 Lou Henson Player of the Year will be announced at the Collegeinsider.com awards banquet at the Final Four on April 1 in Houston.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top mid-major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson, who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he
left the game in 2005, he was sixth all-time in career Division I coaching wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State, and he is one of only 12 coaches to have taken two schools to the Final Four.

In 2010-11, Pattillo averaged 13.7 points and 9.1 rebounds per game in his lone season as a Hilltopper. He recorded 13 double-doubles and had five games in which he scored 20-plus points. The Las Vegas, Nev., native led WKU in scoring nine times and topped the rebounding charts 15 times, and his final rebounding average for the season was the best by a Hilltopper since Nigel Dixon pulled down 10.3 boards per game in 2003-04.

WKU’s 2010-11 season concluded with a 16-16 record after a semifinal loss to North Texas in the Sun Belt Conference Tournament.

2011 Lou Henson All-America Team

Kwadzo Ahelegbe (Northern Iowa)

Devon Beitzel (Northern Colorado)

Denzel Bowles (James Madison)

Gilberto Clavell (Sam Houston State)

D.J. Cooper (Ohio)

Kevin Foster (Santa Clara)

Mike Glover (Iona)

Justin Greene (Kent State)

Demonte Harper (Morehead State)

Frank Hassell (Old Dominion)

John Holland (Boston University)

Matt Howard (Butler)

Orlando Johnson (UC Santa Barbara)

Cameron Jones (Northern Arizona)

Cam Long (George Mason)

Scott Machado (Iona)

Shelvin Mack (Butler)

Mickey McConnell (St. Mary’s)

Kwame Morgan II (Hampton)

Dominique Morrison (Oral Roberts)

Juan Pattillo (WKU)

Mike Smith (East Tennessee State)

Casper Ware (Long Beach State)

Kyle Weems (Missouri State)

Keith Wright (Harvard)




2 responses

28 03 2011

How could Kenneth Faried failed to have made this team?

28 03 2011
Nick Baumgardner

Good question, Carl.

I believe he made the AP All-American third squad – well deserved. I wonder if you make an AP team if you’re not eligible for this one?

Who knows.

Guy was a machine though, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: