Pettigrew picks up a postseason honor

1 04 2011

Per WKU:
WKU’s Steffphon Pettigrew was named the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year by basketball website after a stellar senior season as a Hilltopper in 2010-11.

Pettigrew has already been named to the All-Sun Belt Conference First Team and the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 24 Second-Team this offseason.

The Elizabethtown, Ky., native was a force for the Hilltoppers in 2010-11, averaging 14.6 points and 6.1 rebounds per game. He started every game of the 2010-11 season and played a team-high 33.9 minutes per game.

Pettigrew’s four-year WKU career will go down as one of the finest in Hilltopper history, as he started the final 38 games of his career en route to 136 career games played, the second-most all-time, and made 97 starts, which rank seventh all-time. In those games he scored 1,544 points, which puts him in elite company in 13th place on the WKU career scoring list.

Pettigrew also won two conference championships and three NCAA Tournament games in his career.

WKU’s 2010-11 season concluded with a 16-16 record after a semifinal loss to North Texas in the Sun Belt Conference Tournament.

2011 Sun Belt Conference Awards

Player of the Year: Steffphon Pettigrew (WKU)

Coach of the Year: Bob Marlin (Louisiana-Lafayette)

Most Valuable Player: Chase Hallam (Denver)




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: