Nevada PG Kaspar signs with WKU

2 05 2011

Findlay Prep (Nevada) point guard Kevin Kaspar told the Daily News this afternoon that he’s signed to play basketball at Western Kentucky for next season.

Kaspar – listed as a 6-1, 175-pound point guard – told the Daily News that he’s signed his letter of intent, and can’t wait to get to Bowling Green next season.

“I was really excited to get it done, I appreciated all the schools waiting for me and sticking with me. But with Western Kentucky I felt really great with everything,” said Kaspar, who moved to the U.S. from his native Turkey a year ago. “Before I went on my visit coach (Ken McDonald) came here and met with me face to face and I got a chance to talk with him and he was great. I like him a lot. He’s like a friend off the court, but I know he’s going to push me hard on the court and that’s what I want. That’s what I was looking for. I want to be a better player and be the best I can be and I know he’ll make me better.

“I also like the players already there and I know some of the new freshmen – and I know we can do big things over there.”

At Findlay Prep last season, Kaspar played both the point and the two guard – mostly because he was in the same backcourt as Myck Kabongo – a five-star point guard and Texas signee.

Kaspar (who is a former AAU teammate of WKU four-star signee Derrick Gordon) says though that he’s a true point guard – that’s the position he’s grown up playing, and that’s the spot he can’t wait play next season.

“I’m a point guard, I’m a true point guard,” Kaspar said. “This year I was with Myck Kabongo and sometimes I played the two-guard – and that helped me learn that spot also. But I’m a true point guard, that’s what I grew up playing. I know WKU needed a point guard – and that’s what I want to play.”

Kaspar (who is now a two-star prospect according to Rivals.com) becomes WKU’s sixth signee for the 2011 season – joining Gordon, three-star PF signee George Fant (Warren Central HS), three-star PF signee Vinny Zollo (George Rogers Clark HS), three-star G/F signee Nigel Snipes (Marietta, Ga.) and three-star C signee Deng Leek (Greensboro, N.C.).

ESPN.com rates Kaspar as an “88” and as the 58th best point guard prospect in the country.

More on Kaspar’s signing in Tuesday’s Daily News.

Actions

Information

One response

2 05 2011
carl

I am thrilled we signed him. I think he might have a terrific upside.

Leave a Reply

