WKU puts nine on Phil Steele’s preseason All-SBC team

24 05 2011

Nine members of the Western Kentucky football team received recognition in Phil Steele’s 2011 preseason all-Sun Belt Conference team.

Steele’s annual college football preview magazine will be released on June 7.
Entering its third year as a member of the Sun Belt – and second under head coach Willie Taggart – the nine preseason selections by Phil Steele are the most over that span.

Three Hilltoppers earned first-team honors, including senior running back Bobby Rainey who finished third in the nation in rushing in 2010.  Senior offensive lineman Wes Jeffries and sophomore cornerback Tyree Robinson also garnered first-team honors.

Offensively, junior lineman Adam Smith was named to the second team, and junior tight end Jack Doyle was a third-team pick.  On the defensive side, three junior linemen made the list as Quanterus Smith and Jamarcus Allen were named to the third team, and Kenny Martin was a fourth-team pick.   Senior safety Ryan Beard was also a third-team selection in the secondary.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: