Statement from Finwood on his departure

22 06 2011

Per WKU:

Statement from Chris Finwood

The six years I spent as the head baseball coach at Western Kentucky were in many ways the most rewarding years of my career.  This university has a tremendous leader in Dr. Ransdell, and I cannot thank him enough for the support he has given me and our program.  I also really enjoyed the year I spent working with Ross Bjork, and there is no question WKU athletics has bright years ahead under his watch.  Ross and I had many conversations both during this past season and recently, and I really appreciate his candor and support.  He offered a very fair extension to me and has a vision for continuing to improve the baseball program, and my leaving is in no way a reflection on anything at WKU.

This is just a unique opportunity for our family that we cannot turn down.  I am very proud of all that we accomplished in the last six years.  We did some special things, and none of it would have happened without a tremendous assistant coaching staff, players who bought into the right way to do things, and a loyal and hard working support staff.  Our fan base increased each year, and I cannot begin to thank our fans and the wonderful people in Bowling Green for everything you have done for our family.  The Bowling Green community has a special place in my heart and always will.  To see the wonderful spirit that exists here every day is amazing.  This program is bigger than any one individual, and I am confident the next head coach will continue the progress we made and take this program to even higher levels.

Actions

Information

One response

22 06 2011
Rich

He leaves for inferior baseball team and an inferior baseball league. If his drive to be the best has left him – which I say it has based on this decision – then WKU is better off without him. We will get a coach in here that has the drive and fire to succeed, not settle for a job with a friend who he thinks will be satisfied with any results and never fire him. I get that he is from there, but I don’t thnk that was the main factor in his decision.

Good luck Coach Finwood, but we are better off getting a coach that still has a passion to succeed, not accept being average.

Leave a Reply

