Cezar Guerrero update

30 08 2010

I had a chance to speak with Rivals.com four-star point guard Cezar Guerrero, of St. John Bosco High School in Bellflower, Calif., this weekend about how things are currently going for him on and off the court.

Listed in Rivals.com’s Top 150 for the 2011 class at No. 61, Guerrero holds an offer from Western Kentucky – and according to our friends at InsideHilltopperSports.com, WKU is currently listed as ‘High’ with regard to his interest level.

The 6-0, 175-pounder with flashy ball skills currently holds offers from WKU, Cal State Northridge, Colorado, Fresno State, Loyola Marymount and UC Irvine according to Rivals.com.

As far as his summer was concerned, Guerrero said he felt that he was able to accomplish quite a bit in front of scouts on the AAU circuit – most importantly, being able to show people that he can be a true point guard.

“The summer was good, I put myself out there and showed people what I’m about,” he said. “I showed people my whole game, my shot, my handling, my athleticism, and I’m just blessed and thankful about how well it went.

“I just wanted to work on making my teammates better and really being a point guard. I want to become a point guard with multiple threats, but I really wanted to also be able to keep my teammates involved and just become a more complete player.”

Guerrero said that he does have plans to visit WKU in the coming weeks, but that he still wants to sit down with his high school coach to go over all his options before coming to any decisions.

“I’m still just trying to go through it all because there’s a lot more schools that have become involved,” Guerrero said. “I want to sit down with my coach once I get back to school and narrow things down to a top five and then really start making decisions.”

Guerrero said he hoped to be able to visit WKU “not this coming weekend, but the next weekend,” meaning the weekend of Sept. 11. Guerrero also listed Oklahoma, Indiana and several California-area schools as places that he’d like to take a deeper look at before coming to a decision.

As far as WKU is concerned, though, Guerrero said he’s currently all ears – as coach Ken McDonald and company were one of the first schools to make a hard push for him this summer.

Guerrero said that location isn’t a huge deal when it comes to picking a school, but having a family environment and a home-like atmosphere is.

“It’s going to be wherever I’m happy, wherever I feel like I have a home environment and am happy and whatever place just feels right,” Guerrero said. “But I’m still a kid, you know, I’ve got to be able to find a home away from home.”


Actions

Information

Leave a comment